Advisory Board

MLIS Program Advisory Board members are distinguished information professionals from around the region who represent the different stakeholder groups served by the Valdosta State University MLIS degree program.  The group includes library and information science educators, industry leaders, and distinguished practitioners.  The Board provides external perspective for the MLIS Program.

The mission of the revitalized MLIS Program Advisory Board is to advise and support the MLIS degree program, its faculty, and students. Board members will serve staggered three year terms and meet in person once a year at a Georgia Library Association meeting.  An additional virtual meeting will be held each year. 

Advisory Board members are asked to:

  • Communicate stakeholder needs to the department,
  • Contribute expertise as appropriate to curriculum revision and development, recruiting, and accreditation compliance,
  • Provide guidance on professional development experiences for students and alumni,
  • Participate in at least one teleconference per year in which these and other pertinent issues will be addressed.

MLIS Advisory Board 2014-15 Roster

Alan M. Bernstein, EdD., MLIS
Dean of Odum Library
Valdosta State University

Dick Kawooya, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, School of Library and Information Science
University of South Carolina

Rosalind K. Lett, MBA, MSLS, AHIP
Director, Clayton County Library System

Tamara Livingston, Ph.D, C.A.
Director of Archives
Archives, Rare Books, and Records Management
Kennesaw State University
Kathleen McCook, Ph.D.
Distinguished University Professor
School of Information
University of South Florida 
Kate Nevins
Chief Executive Officer

Merryll S. Penson
Executive Director for Library Services,
Board of Regents, Information Technology Services
University Systems of Georgia
Gail Roberts,
Director of Library & Media Services,
Southwest Georgia Technical College

Wendy S. Wilmoth, DPA, MLIS
Director of Learning Resources
Georgia Piedmont Technical College
VSU MLIS Alumni Representative

ex officio:
Julie White Walker 
State Librarian
Georgia Public Library Service

ex officio:
Katresa Gardne
Electronic Librarian
Georgia Military College
VSU MLIS Student Representative 2014-15
VSU MLIS Student Organization President