Faculty and Staff

Festus Obiakor, Ph.D.

Department Head, Professor, Early Childhood and Special Education

Phone  229-333-5929
feobiakor@valdosta.edu
EC 1161

Office Hours
by appointment only, 229-333-5929


Shirley Andrews, Ed.D.

Professor, Early Childhood and Special Education

Phone  229-293-6068
spandrew@valdosta.edu
EC 1176

Office Hours
Monday: 9:00 - 11:00 am; 2:00 - 4:00 pm
Wednesday: 10:00 am - 2:00 pm
Thursday: 9:00 - 11:00 am


Valerie Bayman

Valerie Bayman

Senior Secretary, Early Childhood and Special Education

Phone  229-333-5929
ecse@valdosta.edu
EC 1160

Office Hours
Monday - Thursday: 8:00 am - 5:30 pm
Friday: 8:00 am - 3:00 pm


Patti C. Campbell, Ed.D.

Coordinator of the Education Specialist Degree in Special Education and Professor, Early Childhood and Special Education

Phone  229-219-1312
pccampbe@valdosta.edu
EC 1145
Visit Website

Office Hours
by appointment only:
Tuesday & Thursday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Wednesday: 12:00 - 2:00 pm


Gina Doepker, Ph.D.

Gina Doepker, Ph.D.

Director of the Sullivan Literacy Center and Associate Professor, Early Childhood and Special Education

Phone  229-333-5625
gmdoepker@valdosta.edu
EC 1168

Office Hours
Monday: 10:00 am - 3:00 pm
Tuesday & Wednesday: 10:00 am - 12:30 pm


Janet Foster, Ph.D.

Janet Foster, Ph.D.

Coordinator of the Early Childhood Education Masters Degree & Certification-Only Advisor and Associate Professor, Early Childhood and Special Education

Phone  229-333-5602
jefoster@valdosta.edu
EC 1186

Office Hours
Tuesday & Thursday: 9:30 am - 1:30 pm
Wednesday: 9:30 - 11:30 am


Carolyn Gish, M.Ed.

Carolyn Gish, M.Ed.

Field Experience & Clinical Practice Coordinator and Instructor, Early Childhood and Special Education

Phone  229-259-2025
cggish@valdosta.edu
EC 1169

Office Hours
Monday: 9:00 am - 12:00 pm
Tuesday: 3:00 - 5:30 pm
Thursday: 2:30 - 5:30 pm


Jessica B. Graves, Ph.D.

Jessica B. Graves, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor, Early Childhood and Special Education

Phone  229-333-5641
jbgraves@valdosta.edu
EC 1172

Office Hours
Tuesday & Wednesday: 10:30 am - 2:30 pm
Thursday: 12:00 - 2:00 pm


Ms. Resa Harris, Ed.S.

Instructor, Early Childhood and Special Education

rsharris@valdosta.edu

Office Hours
Monday: 2:30 - 3:30 pm; 5:00 - 5:30 pm
Wednesday: 10:00 am - 12:00 pm; 2:00 - 3:30 pm; and 5:00 - 5:30 pm
Thursday: 2:00-5:30 pm


Kelly Heckaman, Ph.D.

Coordinator of the Online Degree Programs in Special Education and Associate Professor, Early Childhood and Special Education

Phone  229-333-5929
kaheckaman@valdosta.edu
EC 1174

Office Hours
Monday & Wednesday: 11:30 am - 3:00 pm
Tuesday: 12:00 - 3:00 pm


Lucia Lu, Ph.D.

Lucia Lu, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Early Childhood and Special Education

Phone  229-333-5608
lylu@valdosta.edu
EC 1182

Office Hours
Monday & Wednesday: 10:00 am - 2:00 pm
Tuesday & Thursday: 3:30 - 4:30 pm


Deb Marciano, Ph.D.

Deb Marciano, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Early Childhood and Special Education

Phone  229-333-5610
dlmarciano@valdosta.edu
EC 1170

Office Hours
Monday: 10:00 am - 3:00 pm
Tuesday: 1:00 - 4:30 pm


Alicja Rieger, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Early Childhood and Special Education

Phone  229-333-5929
arieger@valdosta.edu
EC 1167

Office Hours
Tuesday & Wednesday: 9:00 am - 1:00 pm
Thursday: 9:00 - 11:00 am


Tonja Root, Ed.D.

Tonja Root, Ed.D.

Professor, Early Childhood and Special Education

Phone  229-333-5623
troot@valdosta.edu
EC 1187
Visit Website

Office Hours
Monday & Wednesday: 10:00 am - 1:00 pm
Tuesday: 10:00 am - 2:00 pm


Nancy Sartin, M.Ed.

Nancy Sartin, M.Ed.

edTPA Coordinator and Instructor, Early Childhood and Special Education

Phone  229-333-5624
nasartin@valdosta.edu
EC 1178

Office Hours
Monday: 10:00 am - 1:00 pm; 3:00 - 5:00 pm
Thursday: 2:00 - 5:00 pm
Friday: 1:00 - 3:00 pm, by appointment


Shaunita Strozier, Ph.D.

Shaunita Strozier, Ph.D.

Council for Exceptional Children Advisor and Assistant Professor, Early Childhood and Special Education

Phone  229-249-2684
sstrozier@valdosta.edu
EC 1180

Office Hours
Monday: 9:00 - 10:00 am; 12:00 - 3:00 pm
Tuesday: 12:00 - 2:00 pm
Thursday: 10:00 am - 3:00 pm


Shirley Thompson, Ph.D.

Shirley Thompson, Ph.D.

Coordinator of the Early Childhood Education and Early Childhood Special Education Undergraduate Degree Programs and Associate Professor, Early Childhood and Special Education

Phone  229-333-5929
sethomps@valdosta.edu
EC 1185