Operating Procedures

Executive Committee

Membership & Terms

Membership selection:

The COE Dean, Associate Deans, Directors, and Department Heads are automatically assigned to this committee by virtue of their positions. Representatives from the Colleges of the Arts and Arts and Sciences, offering teacher education programs in conjunction with the College of Education, will be selected by a process determined by the respective college deans. The COE faculty representative is elected by the faculty through the Committee on Committees process.


The COE Dean serves as chair. The chair or designee will call meetings, develop the agenda, preside over meetings, and is responsible for maintaining and filing meeting minutes.

Tenure of membership:

The COE Dean, Associate Deans, Directors, and Department Heads serve for the duration of tenure in their respective positions. The term of service of the representatives from the Colleges of the Arts and Arts and Sciences will be determined by the respective colleges. The COE faculty representative will be appointed to a two year term and may serve no more than two consecutive terms.

Operational Guidelines


The committee meeting schedule will be established by the COE Dean. Other meetings will be schedule as a function of the required business.  Electronic meetings and votes are permitted as necessary.

Meeting Protocol:

Use Robert’s Newly Revised Rules of Order 11th Edition—see COE’s abbreviated rules.


A quorum exists when more than 50 percent of the membership is represented in person or by proxy.


A plurality is sufficient to decide. A record of the vote is included in the Minutes. The chair will vote in cases of a tie. Proxies are permitted. Persons should abstain from voting and discussion on issues in which they have a direct personal interest “not common to other members” (see Roberts Rules of Order Newly Revised 11th Edition, p. 407-408, for more detailed explanation). Electronic voting is permitted as long as the total number of ballots cast constitutes a “quorum.”

Subcommittees or Task Forces:

The committee has the authority to create subcommittees or task forces to explore and report on issues or complete specialized tasks.  Although the membership of these groups must have at least one committee member, other members may be drawn from individuals with other areas of expertise.


The committee will keep substantive minutes or recordings of their deliberations. Copies of committee minutes, reports, proposals, recommendations, and all other documents are to be filed.