Graduate Faculty

Dr. Carl M. Cates, ProfessorDepartment Head 
PhD, Florida State University
MA, Abilene Christian University
BA, Abilene Christian University 
ccates@valdosta.edu
Specialization: Mentors, Listening, Playful Communication, Cults

Dr. Ray Young, Professor
PhD, Purdue University
MA, Cal State University, Sacramento
BA, Cal State University, Sacramento
ryoung@valdosta.edu 
Specialization: Mentoring, Leadership, Creativity, Interpersonal Communication

Dr. Michael H. Eaves, Professor
PhD, Florida State University
MA, University of Georgia
BA, University of Alabama
meaves@valdosta.edu
Specialization: Debate, Rhetoric, Post-Modernism, Feminism, Film Criticism

Mr. Frank Barnas, Professor 
MFA, University of Texas
BJ, University of Missouri
fbarnas@valdosta.edu
Specialization: Broadcast Journalism

Mr. Mike Savoie, Associate Professor 
MFA, University of New Orleans
BA, University of New Orleans
mpsavoie@valdosta.edu
Specialization: Digital Media and Video Production

Dr. Deborah Robson, Associate Professor 
PhD, University of Massachusetts - Amherst
MA, University of Massachusetts - Amherst
BA, George Mason University
dcrobson@valdosta.edu
Specialization: Communication Theory, Pedagogy

Dr. Larry Etling, Associate Professor
PhD, University of Georgia
MA, University of North Dakota
BA, University of Saskatchewan
letling@valdosta.edu
Specialization: Audio Theory, Production and Performance

Dr. William Faux, Assistant Professor
PhD, University of Denver 
wvfaux@valdosta.edu
Specialization: Organizational Culture and Intercultural Communication