Meet Our Faculty

Dr. Viki Soady

Dr. Viki Soady

Department Head, Professor, Latin

Ph.D.
McMaster University

Phone  229-333-5948
vsoady@valdosta.edu
West Hall 134


Dr. Karen Acosta

Dr. Karen Acosta

Assistant Professor, Spanish

Ph.D.
University of Kansas

Phone  229-249-2682
karacosta@valdosta.edu
Ashley 2203

Office Hours
More information


Dr. Amy I. Aronson

Dr. Amy I. Aronson

Director Peru Study Abroad, Associate Professor, Spanish

Ph.D.
Temple University

Phone  229-333-7102
aaronson@valdosta.edu
West Hall 133

Office Hours
More information


Dr. Luis G. Bejarano

Dr. Luis G. Bejarano

Certified OPI Examiner, Professor , Spanish

Ph.D.
University of Oklahoma

Phone  229-249-4942
lgbejara@valdosta.edu
West Hall 142


Dr. Fleming Bell

Dr. Fleming Bell

Academic Advisor for Spanish, Assistant Professor, Spanish

Ph.D.
Florida State University

Phone  229-259-5125
flbell@valdosta.edu
West Hall 136


Ms. Anne Bowen

Instructor, Spanish

M.Ed.
Valdosta State University

Phone  229-333-5948
aabowen@valdosta.edu
West Hall 128

Office Hours
by appointment


Ms. Edris Brannen

Ms. Edris Brannen

Lecturer, Spanish

M.Ed.
Valdosta State University

elbrannen@valdosta.edu
West Hall 141

Office Hours
More information


Dr. Adolfo Carrillo Cabello

Dr. Adolfo Carrillo Cabello

Assistant Professor, Spanish

Ph.D.
Iowa State University

Phone  229-333-7370
aacarrillocabell@valdosta.edu
Ashley Hall 2204


Ms. Mariya Chakir

Ms. Mariya Chakir

Lecturer, Arabic and French

M.A. (2)
Ohio University

Phone  229-333-7373
mchakir@valdosta.edu
West Hall 127


Dr. Kelly Davidson

Academic Advisor for French and Foreign Language Education, Assistant Professor, French

Ph.D.


kfdavidson@valdosta.edu
West Hall 137


Dr. Michelle A. Forbes

Dr. Michelle A. Forbes

Assistant Professor, Spanish, TESOL

Ph.D.
University of Missouri

Phone  229-249-2653
maforbes@valdosta.edu
Ashley Hall 2216
Visit Website

Office Hours
More information


Dr. Ellen Lorraine Friedrich

Director of French Studies in France, Professor, French and Spanish

Ph.D.
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Phone  229-333-5446
elfried@valdosta.edu
West Hall 253


Dr. Ransom Gladwin

Dr. Ransom Gladwin

Associate Professor, Spanish, ESOL, Coordinator of Foreign Language Education (FLED)

Ph.D.
Florida State University

Phone  229-259-5109
rgladwin@valdosta.edu
West Hall 148

Office Hours
TW - 9:00-12:00 P.M.

More information


Dr. Sandra Kregar

Assistant Professor, Spanish, TESOL

Ph.D.
Florida State University

Phone  229-249-2650
sjkregar@valdosta.edu
Ashley Hall 2002


Dr. Babacar Mboup

Assistant Professor, Director Senegal, Africa Study Abroad, French

Ph.D.
University of Massachusetts

Phone  229-249-2709
bmboup@valdosta.edu
Ashley Hall 2213


Ms. Irina McClellan

Ms. Irina McClellan

Russian

ibmcclel@valdosta.edu
Center for International Students


Mr. Brian Nelson

Instructor, Spanish

C. Phil (Candidate of Philosophy)
University of California, Davis

Phone  229-249-2635
bknelson@valdosta.edu
Nevins Hall 1206

Office Hours
MW - 2:00-3:30
R - 12:30-1:30


Dr. Ofelia Nikolova

Professor, Adviser of French Language and Culture, French

Ph.D.
Southern Illinois University at Carbondale

Phone  229-333-7374
ornikolova@valdosta.edu
Ashley 2205

Office Hours
R - 11:00-12:30 and 4:00-5:00


Dr. Ericka Parra

Dr. Ericka Parra

Associate Professor, Spanish

Ph.D.
University of Florida

Phone  229-333-7372
ehparra@valdosta.edu
Ashley Hall 2201


Mr. Anthony Paulino

Mr. Anthony Paulino

Lecturer, Spanish

Phone  229-333-7087
ajpaulin@valdosta.edu
West Hall 128

Office Hours
More Information


Dr. Beatriz Potter

Dr. Beatriz Potter

Instructional Technologist and Lecturer in Spanish , Spanish

Ed.D.
Valdosta State University

Phone  229-259-5108
bpotter@valdosta.edu
West Hall 127
Visit Website

Office Hours
Mondays 12:00 PM - 1:30 PM
Wednesdays 3:30 PM - 4:30 PM
Or by appointment


Dr. Victoria Russell

Assistant Professor, Spanish, Foreign Language Education (FLED)

Ph.D.
University of South Florida

Phone  229-333-7357
varussell@valdosta.edu
Ashley Hall 2202
Visit Website

Office Hours
More Information


Ms. Gabriele Stellmacher

Ms. Gabriele Stellmacher

Instructor, German

M.A.


Phone  229-333-7415
gstellma@valdosta.edu
Nevins Hall 1211


Dr. Grazyna Walczak

Dr. Grazyna Walczak

Assistant Professor, Spanish

Ph.D.
University of Florida

Phone  229-249-2639
ghwalczak@valdosta.edu
Ashley Hall 2001


Dr. Susan Wehling

Dr. Susan Wehling

Professor, Spanish, Foreign Language Education (FLED)

Ph.D.
University of Cincinnati

Phone  229-333-7100
swehling@valdosta.edu
Ashley Hall 2217


Dr. Jane Whitehead

Dr. Jane Whitehead

Professor, French and Latin

Ph.D.
Yale University

Phone  229-249-4915
jwhitehe@valdosta.edu
West Hall 135