August 18, 2011
11-138

Sara Lynn McCall Graduate Assistant, Communications Unit

2011-2012 Art Exhibits Announced, Including the VSU Art FacultyExhibition

 

VALDOSTA -- Valdosta State University’s College of the Arts once again has an extraordinary lineup of eye-catching exhibitions that will be on display for the public throughout fall 2011 and spring 2012.

VSU Art Faculty Exhibition
Monday, Aug. 22 - Friday, Sept. 9, 2011
VSU Fine Arts Gallery
The VSU Fine Arts Gallery opens the fall season with the diverse work of Art Department faculty, with media ranging from photography, oil painting, acrylics, mixed media, graphic design, charcoal and mixed media drawing, glass, wood, fibers and ceramics. “The Faculty Exhibition is an annual event where the Art Department faculty demonstrates that they ‘walk the walk’ not just ‘talk the talk,’” said Gallery Director Julie Bowland. The Faculty Jazz Combo will play at the opening reception on Monday, Aug. 22 from 7-8:30 p.m. The show is sponsored by Hester & Morris Orthodontics.

See below for a detailed list of more exhibitions and features throughout 2011-2012.

Joel Feldman: Woodcuts and Drawings 1985 - Present
Monday, Sept. 19 - Friday, Oct. 7, 2011
VSU Fine Arts Gallery
Opening Reception: Monday, September 19, 7-8:30pm

Susan Bowen: Rippled Realities Overlapping Multiple Exposure Images Shot with a Plastic Camera
Monday, Oct. 17 - Friday, Nov. 4, 2011
VSU Fine Arts Gallery
Opening Reception: Monday, October 17, 7-8:30pm

Fall Senior Exhibition
Sunday, Nov. 13 - Monday, Dec. 5, 2011
VSU Fine Arts Gallery
Opening Reception: Sunday, November 13, 1-3 pm

Valdosta National 2012 All-Media Juried Competition
Tuesday, Jan. 17 - Friday, Feb. 3, 2012
VSU Fine Arts Gallery
Opening Reception: Tuesday, January 17, 7-8:30pm
Sponsorship by Citizens Community Bank

Artists of Railroad Square - Multi-Media Invitational Exhibition
Monday, Feb. 13 - Friday, March 2, 2012
VSU Fine Arts Gallery
Opening Reception: Monday, February 13, 7-8:30pm

VSU Art Student Competition - All-Media Juried Competition
Monday, March 19 - Friday, April 6, 2012
VSU Fine Arts Gallery
Opening Reception: Monday, March 19, 7-8:30pm
Sponsorship by Dr. Don Mirate - MIRATE Eye Center

Spring Senior Exhibition
Sunday, April 15 - Monday, April 30, 2012
VSU Fine Arts Gallery
Opening Reception: Sunday, April 15, 1-3 pm

The Fine Arts Gallery, located on the first floor in the Fine Arts Building, is open Mondays through Thursdays from 9 a.m.-5:30 p.m. and Friday from 9 a.m.-3 p.m. For more information, e-mail Gallery Director Julie Bowland at jabowlan@valdosta.edu or visit www.valdosta.edu/art/galleryschedule1112.shtml.